Hunter Hayes, The Band Perry and Zac Brown Band Cover Elton John on New Box Set

UMGHunter Hayes, The Band Perry and Zac Brown Band are among the artists covering songs from Elton John’s classic 1973 album, Goodbye Yellow Brick Road. The new recordings are included on a deluxe box-set re-release of the project along with b-sides, bonus tracks, live performances and a 1973 movie, Elton John and Bernie Taupin Say Goodbye to Norma Jean.

Hunter performs the title song on the project while Zac Brown Band sings “Harmony.” The Band Perry turned in a bluegrass version of the song, “Grey Seal,” which ended up being a pleasant surprise for Elton. He says, “I never thought of doing that in a million years.”

Pop star Ed Sheeran, rockers Fall Out Boy and R&B star Miguel are among the other stars on the Goodbye Yellow Brick Road box set.

Copyright 2014 ABC News Radio

Taylor Swift Trespasser Formally Charged in Rhode Island Courtroom

Photo Credit: Sarah BarlowA man accused of trespassing at Taylor Swift‘s Rhode Island mansion on the beach has been charged with misdemeanor counts of willful trespass and disorderly conduct.

According to The Westerley Sun, 38-year-old Daniel P. Cole was brought before a judge Friday after making multiple attempts to access Taylor’s property last December. The man reportedly blocked Taylor’s driveway with his truck and then later screamed obscenities at police while they arrested him on the property.

Coipyright 2014 ABC News Radio

Miranda Lambert Debuts “Automatic” Video on CMT

Sony Music NashvilleMiranda Lambert‘s new video for “Automatic” is now airing exclusively on CMT and The clip shows Miranda acting out the nostalgic lyrics as she drives around a small town and goes through old pictures and letters in an attic.

“Automatic” is the lead single from Miranda’s upcoming album, Platinum, due out June 3.

Copyright 2014 ABC News Radio

New Artist Nominees Brett Eldredge, Justin Moore and Kip Moore Performing on ACM Awards

ACMACM New Artist of the Year nominees Brett Eldredge, Justin Moore and Kip Moore are set to perform on the 49th Annual ACM Awards Sunday, April 6 on CBS. They’ll be taking part in the 4th Annual ACM Fan Jam remote broadcast at the Mandalay Bay Events Center in Las Vegas that night. Florida Georgia Line is headlining this year’s Fan Jam.

Fan voting is now open to determine the winner of this year’s New Artist of the Year trophy. Go to to cast your ballot.

Copyright 2014 ABC News Radio

Taylor Swift Spends More than Four Hours Visiting Pediatric Cancer Patients in Manhattan

Photo Credit: Sarah BarlowTaylor Swift took time out of her weekend to spend more than four hours visiting pediatric cancer patients at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center in New York City. Video of Taylor’s visit with patient Shelby Huff has been uploaded to YouTube. She can be seen just hanging out and goofing around with Shelby before giving the young girl tips on learning to play guitar.

Shelby’s mother posted a message on the family’s Facebook page saying, “We are still in awe, Taylor Swift is a class act all around, she was so sweet, compassionate, asked US questions, got on Skype with my other daughter, stayed in our room and talked with us and was completely down to earth.”

On the music front, Taylor is currently working on her new studio album expected out later this year. She’ll take The RED Tour to Asia starting June 1 in Tokyo, Japan.

Copyright 2014 ABC News Radio

Brett Eldredge Invites Fans to “Step into the Weirdness” with Him on Twitter

Warner Music NashvilleBrett Eldredge isn’t afraid to let his freak flag fly on Twitter. In fact, his Twitter profile bio reads, “Step into the weirdness.” Brett says it was Blake Shelton who gave him the courage to tweet his random thoughts to the world.

Brett tells ABC News Radio, “I remember when Blake really, like, just started being Blake completely, and just didn’t care. He especially stepped out on Twitter and did that, and when he was completely honest with his fans and with people on Twitter and just was Blake, people accept you.”

Brett insists he doesn’t try to be random. He simply shares whatever’s on his mind at the moment. Here’s one of his recent, random tweets from March 15:  “For some reason, no matter what time of year, I always sing Christmas songs in the shower….” The next day, Brett tweeted, “I wish I invented cool words like ‘Brunch’…makes me hungry.”

He adds, “I don’t know what causes me to say what I say, but I say it and I just put it out there, and I guess people are entertained by it, so I just keep on keepin’ [on].”

Brett is using Twitter to campaign for the ACM New Artist of the Year trophy. He’s up against Justin Moore and Kip Moore for that honor. Fan-voting in that category is now open at The winner will be announced on the 49th Annual ACM Awards Sunday, April 6 at 8 p.m. ET on CBS.

Copyright 2014 ABC News Radio

Country Star Trivia

Comstock/ThinkstockHunter Hayes hails from which Southern state? ANSWER: Louisiana.

Copyright 2014 ABC News Radio

Keith Urban’s Fifth Annual We’re All 4 the Hall Benefit Concert Set for May 6

Capitol NashvilleKeith Urban‘s fifth annual We’re All 4 the Hall benefit concert is set for May 6 at Nashville’s Bridgestone Arena. This year’s theme is Storytellers (A Large Intimate Evening), with Carrie Underwood, Kip Moore, Brantley Gilbert, David Nail, Brett Eldredge, Kacey Musgraves, Reba, Lee Ann Womack, and Lee Brice all on the bill. Vince Gill and Keith return as musical directors. Ronnie Milsap, Deana Carter and Mary Chapin Carpenter are also set to perform.

Proceeds from the show go to the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum in Nashville. The first four We’re All 4 the Hall Concerts have raised more than $2 million for the museum.

Tickets go on sale Friday, April 4 through Ticketmaster.

Copyright 2014 ABC News Radio

Nashville Notes

Burke/Triolo Productions/ThinkstockDolly Parton will perform on NBC’s Today show on May 13 to promote her new album, Blue Smoke.

Nashville star Charles Esten was spotted backstage at George Strait‘s Friday night concert in Music City.

Copyright 2014 ABC News Radio

George Strait Welcomes Superstars and Covers Tom Petty at Final Nashville Show

EB Media PRGeorge Strait‘s final tour stop in Nashville featured guest appearances from two of country’s other biggest stars and a pointed message to a rock legend.

Kenny Chesney joined George onstage Friday night at the Bridgestone Arena for a duet of “Amarillo by Morning.” Eric Church also showed up to sing “Cowboys Like Us” during Strait’s set.

To open his encore, George sang a cover of Tom Petty‘s “You Wreck Me,” and it worked nicely as a country song. Strait spoke out last year against Petty’s comment that country music is “bad rock with fiddle.” George’s decision to cover “You Wreck Me” on this tour serves as a rebuttal to Tom’s statement as well as an invitation for the rock star to actually learn about modern country music.

As for the rest of George’s show, the evening was packed with classics like “Unwound,” “Ocean Front Property,” “The Chair,” “Nobody in His Right Mind Would’ve Left Her,” “Check Yes or No” and “The Fireman.” More recent singles such as “Give It All We Got Tonight” and “I Got a Car” rounded out the set list.

Copyright 2014 ABC News Radio