Image Courtesy Sony Music NashvilleTyler Farr‘s new album, Suffer in Peace, is out this week. As you might have guessed from the title, there are plenty of sad country songs on the new project, including his latest hit, “A Guy Walks into a Bar.” Tyler named the album after one of the songs on the project, and he knew it would grab people’s attention.

Tyler tells ABC Radio, “Suffer in Peace, for me, the title is kind of like a book, where you read a chapter, and if it’s good and interesting, you want to read more and dig more into it –‘I wonder what the rest of it’s gonna be like,’ you know?  That’s why I picked the title for the album.”

Other album cuts, like “Withdrawals” and “I Don’t Even Want This Beer,” pull no punches when it comes to addressing heartbreak. While there are a few uptempo songs on Suffer in Peace, Tyler felt it was important to honor his love of classic country music with those sad ballads.

“I’m not a trendsetter,” Tyler says. “That’s been going on for years all the way back to Hank Williams to now. So, I’m just trying to keep it alive.”

He adds, “There’s a lot of stuff going on right now [in country music] that’s all happy, rays-of-sunshine and flower songs, so I think a lot of other people got all the ‘Happy Happy Joy Joy’ stuff covered, so I guess I gotta cover the darker end of the spectrum, which I’m fine with ’cause I’m a sucker for sad songs.”

Fans looking for some lighter fare will find it on Tyler’s album-opening song, “C.O.U.N.T.R.Y.,” and his duet with Jason Aldean, “Damn Good Friends.”

Tyler says of his song selection for Suffer in Peace, “We tried to create a painting that had something for everyone.”

Copyright © 2015, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.